You can't be too delusional to run for office as a Republican

That headline could probably serve as a tagline for my blog, but sometimes the derangement one sees spewing forth from the GOP is really too much to bear.  Earlier this month, a group called True Republicans PAC launched an attack ad at GOP gubernatorial candidate Bradley Byrne which criticized the candidate of pushing for the teaching of evolution in schools.  I know, I know, this Byrne character sounds like a real monster.  The ad, posted below, criticizes Byrne for saying at one point that parts of the Bible are true and parts aren’t.  Byrne then went apoplectic and basically said, “I believe every goddamn word in that fucking book.  Literally every word in that book is true.”  Believing every word in the Bible is true should be cause for immediate institutionalization.  Or, you know, being considered to run a state.

[youtubevid id=”rlAjTQO11V0″]

Here’s Byrne’s response, which, again, is indistinguishable from the unhinged ravings of a madman.

I believe the Bible is the Word of God and that every single word of it is true. From the earliest parts of this campaign, a paraphrased and incomplete parsing of my words have been knowingly used to insinuate that I believe something different than that. My faith is at the center of my life and my belief in Jesus Christ as my personal savior and Lord guides my every action.

Well, I believe that thunder is the sound of god bowling and gay marriage makes Zeus cry.  Hence, rain.

And here’s something that Byrne believe is true:

Deuteronomy 23:1 ESVNo one whose testicles are crushed or whose male organ is cut off shall enter the assembly of the Lord.

To be fair, Deuterino is from the Old Testament, so maybe Byrne thinks the above statement is silly.

One last thing to note.  The PAC who created the ad is largely funded by other PACs closely associated with the de facto teacher’s union.  TPM reported that the teachers have a bone to pick with Byrne because of “his past attempts to ban the employees of two-year colleges from serving in the state legislature.”  As they say, there’s more than one way to skin a cat, but helping a PAC create an ad like this strikes me as remarkably backwards.

This entry was posted in Education, Politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

